Frequently Asked Questions

>>Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions2019-01-19T14:15:44+00:00
In which languages is Hyper available?2019-01-19T15:31:40+00:00

Hyper is currently only available in English.

Is an iOS version of Hyper available?2019-01-19T14:19:16+00:00

An iOS version of Hyper will be released soon, for more information please see the Roadmap . ( https://hyper.im/roadmap/ )

Are group chats possible?2019-01-19T14:17:38+00:00

This feature will be available soon, please see the Roadmap . ( https://hyper.im/roadmap/ )

Can I share videos with my contacts?2019-01-19T14:10:47+00:00

This feature will be available soon, please see the Roadmap . ( https://hyper.im/roadmap/ )

Can I share photos with my contacts?2019-01-19T14:10:24+00:00

This feature will be available soon, please see the Roadmap . ( https://hyper.im/roadmap/ )

Can I use Emoji in conversations?2019-01-19T14:09:39+00:00

Yes, the use of Emoji in conversations is possible.

Can I send and receive files in a conversation?2019-01-19T14:08:30+00:00

This feature will be available soon, please see the Roadmap . ( https://hyper.im/roadmap/ )

Can I remove messages or the entire message history from my contact’s phone?2019-01-19T14:00:13+00:00

No, each participant stores their own copy of the conversation.

It is not possible to remove exchanged messages from someone else’s phone.

You can only delete messages from your own copy of messages, but it will not affect the other participant’s copy

Where are my messages stored?2019-01-19T13:55:40+00:00

Conversations with contacts, including messages sent and received are stored only locally on the sender’s and receiver’s phones.

The network between your phone and the contact’s phone does not store any messages at all.

Can I reinstall the Hyper application and still keep the messages and contacts from before?2019-01-19T13:50:30+00:00

If the Hyper app is removed at any point from your phone (including re-installation), all contacts and previous messages will be deleted.
In addition, after a reinstall, your ‘Address’ and User ID will also change.

However, updates via the Google Play Store will not affect your contact list or your previous messages.

Note: A backup (export / import) feature will be added to the Hyper app which stores your previous profile configurations, messages and contacts, therefore
enabling the possibility of a reinstall.

Do updates via the Google Play Store affect my data?2019-01-19T13:50:19+00:00

No, updates via the Google Play Store will not affect your settings, contacts list or messages.

Can I receive messages while not having the Hyper app open?2019-01-19T13:40:56+00:00

By default, once the Hyper app is opened, it will continue running in the background and will stay connected to the peer-to-peer network.
This means you will be able to receive messages and notifications even when the Hyper app is hidden or closed.

The background service can be turned off or on in your Profile overview.
If the background service is turned off, you will not be offline if the Hyper app is hidden or closed and will not be able to receive any messages or notifications.

Can I receive messages while being offline?2019-01-19T13:36:43+00:00

No, being offline means you are not connected to the peer-to-peer network.
Therefore you cannot receive nor send any messages.

Can I send messages to a contact who is offline?2019-01-19T13:35:47+00:00

No, when a contact is offline, it means they are not connected to the peer-to-peer network.
Therefore they cannot receive nor send any messages.

Can I add contacts by their profile name?2019-01-19T13:30:53+00:00

No, contacts can only be added by their ‘Address’.
Profile names given by the user are not forced to be unique and are not searchable.

Can I add a contact by their Nickname?2019-01-19T13:29:39+00:00

No, contacts can only be added by their ‘Address’.
Nicknames stored on phones are never shared.

Does the contact see the nickname that I have set for them?2019-01-19T13:28:15+00:00

No, only you see the nickname you have set for someone in your contacts list.

Can I add a contact by their User ID?2019-01-19T13:26:24+00:00

No, contacts can only be added by their ‘Address’.

How can I see the profile data of a contact?2019-01-19T13:23:02+00:00
  1. Tap the ‘Contacts’ tab.
  2. Tap the contact card of the contact you wish to see the profile of.
  3. The profile of the contact will be shown.
How can I remove a contact?2019-01-19T13:19:58+00:00
  1. Tap the ‘Contacts’ tab.
  2. In the right side of the name card of the contact you wish to remove, click the red ‘X’ icon.
  3. In the confirmation Pop-Up, click ‘Confirm’ to remove a contact from your friends list.
  4. The contact will be not be listed on your contacts list anymore.
How can I add a new contact?2019-01-19T13:03:34+00:00
  1. Tap the ‘Contacts’ tab.
  2. Click the add button in the right bottom corner.
  3. Add a ‘Nickname’ to the user you wish to connect with
  4. Add a message to the invitation (or leave the default message).
  5. Click next.
  6. Enter the address (not User ID!) of a contact you wish to add. Note: If a QR code of a contact is available (eg. separate Hyper.im user), their QR code can be scanned.
  7. Wait for the added contact to approve your request.
  8. Once approved, the contact will be available in the ‘Online’ tab.